i7 4700K
16Gb GSkill Ram 1866Mhz
Maximus VI Formula
Corsair H100i WC
Samsung 250Gb Evo Pro SSD
WD 2TB Green
NZXT Phantom 410
GTX 770

I overclocked my CPU to 4.1 GHZ at 1.7V and on running Prime 95 at full load I am getting temp readings on Real Temp of 75 C maximum. Temps dont exceed 75 C and are around 69 C maximum on the 3rd and 4th core.....Is this a good overclock or a bad overclock....? I'm new at this and so wanted to know if the results are good.....I would really appreciate your help.....
Thnx....
4 REPLIES 4

Antronman
Level 10
"Evo Pro"? I think you just mean EVO. The voltage is really, really, really high. But the temps are great.
Say hi to the next generation.

Peace is a lie, there is only Passion

Through passion, I gain strength

Through strength, I gain victory

Through victory, my chains are broken

The Republic of Gamers shall free me

HiVizMan
Level 40
Sincerly hope that 1.7 is a typo.... Please do not set voltage that high.
To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

PowerOver9K
Level 9
sahil1105 wrote:
Guys I just bought my first assembled PC with the following specs:
i7 4700K
16Gb GSkill Ram 1866Mhz
Maximus VI Formula
Corsair H100i WC
Samsung 250Gb Evo Pro SSD
WD 2TB Green
NZXT Phantom 410
GTX 770

I overclocked my CPU to 4.1 GHZ at 1.7V and on running Prime 95 at full load I am getting temp readings on Real Temp of 75 C maximum. Temps dont exceed 75 C and are around 69 C maximum on the 3rd and 4th core.....Is this a good overclock or a bad overclock....? I'm new at this and so wanted to know if the results are good.....I would really appreciate your help.....
Thnx....

Your volts are way too high. Use the guide below as a guide for that board. (It's for Extreme but bios options are almost the same). Oh you got the EVO Pro? I almost bought that one but chose EVO instead. You like it?

http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Intel/Haswell_OC_Guide/