cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Intel Core i7 4790K temps

izzer
Level 7
Hey guys,

I have a ROG MAXIMUS VII HERO MoBo with Intel Core i7 4790K CPU.
I have a CoolerMaster Hyper 103 cooler sitting on the CPU ( I got it for free with the CPU ).

I have optimized defaults in BIOS, except I set XMP for RAM.

In Windows (even BIOS) when the CPU is idle, the temps are at 37-40 degrees. I noticed that when I played CS:GO, temps were around 60 degrees, maybe higher (I think I saw 70 there). I thought that is little too much for that game so I ran some Prime95 stress test and temps boosted to 90+. Someone wrote that the newer versions of Prime95 are a little bit more stressful for Haswell so I ran some AIDA64 test.

In seconds (maybe second) the temperature topped at 70+- degrees. Some of the cores were at 80 degrees.

Here is a image of the temps:
http://www.imagehosting.cz/?v=aidatemps.png

On intel's page the temperature before it's going to throttle is 72,5 degress I think.
Should I be worried? Maybe reapply thermal paste? Or is it normal?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.
15 REPLIES 15

Nate152
Hello izzer

Welcome to the ROG forum !

The 4790k does run hot, you're gaming temps are fine and no need to worry but if you want to reapply the thermal compound you could do that to see if you can get temps any lower.

I like to use the spread method when applying the thermal compound.

Clean off the old thermal compound with tissue or toilet paper, paper towels are too abrasive so don't use those. Then add a few drops of rubbing alcohol to tissue and thoroughly clean the cpu and cooler.

Then add a dab about the size of a small pea and spread it evenly over the entire cpu. It is important it is a thin even layer so take your time. Install the cooler and you're done.

Did this help bring temps down any?

Hello Nate152,

thanks for your answer.