cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help with watercooling Asus Maximus VI Formula

Hakan-Sukur
Level 7
Hi everybody,

Im thinking about buy the new Asus Maximus VI Formula, and use an AIO ( ex : Corsair, Swiftech ) to make WC on my cpu and power stage

1/ Can i use this solution ( AIO ) ? If its possible, whats model?

2/ I have seen, for tubes i need to use 1/4" ( diameter), as im a beginner with WC, i dont have lot of experience.

Thx for your help!
17 REPLIES 17

slmale7
Level 7
i'm using H110 from corsair for my overclocked intel i-4930k and im pretty much happy with the preformance tempratures and the fans are so quite, but had to drill my Cooler Master GT case because the radiator was so big, so check the dimentions of the radiator before you decide and make sure if fits because i didn't think of that when i bought it 😛 but went fine. i don't know much about the tube size but the tubes are not that long so the radiator will have to be close to the motherboard.

Ok thx, for the case im going to take a Corsair 750D, but i mean i need to take an AIO which tubes can be detached to add tubes for power stage.

jab383
Level 13
Hi, Hakan-Sukur and welcome

The M6F is a great choice, but check out the Maximus VII being announced this week. An M7F may be more attractive for a new build at this time.

All-in-one watercooling kits are okay for a CPU. I have not seen any AOI kit with enough pump to add any other components to the cooling loop. They all come with one waterblock for the CPU and do not expect anything else to be added. Many of the AOI use a single-fan radiator. Those are acceptable for a moderately overclocked CPU, but water temperature would rise if more power, for instance from the VRM (power regulators), were added.

A plan to add anything to the cooling loop has to consider a custom loop. That can easily be extended to the VRM of the Formula and even to DRAM and video cards. I include only the VRM at the moment.