cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help a Noob with UEFI

Dave112
Level 7
I've been building computers since the 80's but it's been a while. I just built a new system with M7H and 4790K. I also have 32 GB Kingston HyperX Beast 2400 memory. I am a complete Noob at UEFI, XMP, and overclocking in general. When I try to set XMP to run the memory at 2400, the CPU also gets overclocked to 4.8 MHz and the computer won't boot. I don't want to OC the CPU yet, but I do want to run the memory at 2400. Do I have to set the memory manually? If so, I don't know how to do that yet, so any step by step instructions would be appreciated.
12 REPLIES 12

HiVizMan
Level 40
How are you trying to set XMP profile.

This is how I do it and I do not have my CPU OC'd on completion.

In BIOS F5 to reset to defaults.

Mode of OC XMP profile.

All the rest leave to auto.

F10 and enter.

Job done.
To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

That is pretty much what I did. Memory is now at 2133 MHz and CPU (at default) is at 4.4 MHz. Just changing the XMP profile (nothing else) to the 2400 Profile OCs the CPU to 4.8. Any suggestions are/will be welcome.

HiVizMan
Level 40
Please use a FAT formatted USB stick and take some screen shots. F12 in bios.

These are the screens I want to see.

1 F5 and enter take a screen after doing this.
2 Set the XMP profile as mode of OC but no press enter
3 Once you have set the XMP profile

Make sure you have the mode of OC right at the top of the screen so I can see the multi section in the screenshot.
To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

Dave112
Level 7
I hope I took the screenshots right, including the adding the images.

I was confused about image #3. So the fourth image is after the computer wouldn't boot and I hit Reset.

Dave112
Level 7