cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ASUS Intel overclocking where to begin? NOT a total noob in general

N8LBV
Level 7
I am an experienced system builder (very experienced) for many years however not an experienced overclocker on anything recent.
I technically understand the concepts but have no practical hands-on experience.
My attempts to use any of the "easy overclocking" or "AI" overclocking almost ALWAYS fail
with a long wait on startup and the system telling be the overclock failed or I immediately get bluescreen crashes in windows.

I always purchase good ASUS gaming boards, Intel "K" CPUS most often Corsair DDR4 memory a good solid overrated power supply
and a high quality air cooler in most cases (Noshua).
I won't even mess with water coolers (I have a few) until I can manage the basics of overclocking on a big large air cooler a bit first.

Right now I am simply trying to turn on XMP on a Z590-P with 32GB of Corsair 3200MHz (2x16) DDR4 and instant fail!
I've had simply turning on XMP on other boards work but it is hit or miss and mostly miss.
Latest updated bios in all cases. (many different ASUS boards since around 2016)

I feel like an idiot! I really know this stuff and computers but need to get a start on overclocking and having a little more fun with these nice boards and CPUs.
I don't get the automatic overclocking hardly ever working, I really don't get it.
I understand you might have to raise voltages and all on certain things but I don't understand where and what is the point of the auto/AI stuff if it usually fails?
I'd expect "auto" to "try" things and ramp it up until it fails and then back off to where it works *automatically* and it clearly does not and has not.