cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Updating Maximus VI Hero

xProvidence
Level 7
Hey guys, Providence here.

I'm new to building a computer however yesterday I successfully built one with only a few hiccups.

My specs:
Asus Maximus VI Hero
Intel i5 4670K, stock clock
Asus GTX 780 DirectCU II OC, stock clock
Corsair Vengeance 8GB 2X4 1600MHz
Corsair HX850
Samsung 840 Evo 500GB
2 X Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB
Windows 8.1

Please prepare for a bombardment of questions.

I have already installed Windows 8.1, updated the video card, sound card and LAN drivers. What else should I update? Specifically, what motherboard drivers should I update? BIOS, too? Have I screwed the pooch by installing Windows 8.1 BEFORE updating the motherboard? Looking at the downloads available in the Asus website, under utilities I see a few programs and drivers that can be updated though I am VERY unsure, which is why I am here.

What maintenance programs and utilities should I install?

I say maintenance cause I'm completely new at this. What I mean is are there any programs and utilities I can use to keep my system running smoothly for as long as it can. Programs and utilities that can tell me how my system is doing without getting overly technical.

I am also having trouble setting up a RAID 1 configuration for my 2 HDDs. I have the OS installed on the SSD, not totally sure if my computer detects both HDDs but Disk Management shows two HDDs, both almost 1TB but not exactly the same size. I hooked everything up and installed the OS and all before I tried creating the RAID configuration.

The CPU fan header is also giving me trouble. The fan seems to spin too slowly which the computer doesn't like. I set the minimum value to 300 RPM which seems to have fixed it though i'm unclear how that works.

I won't overclock anything soon although I may use the gamer preset in the BIOS. Depends on my temps, but that's for another day.