cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Setting up RAID array on Ports 5+6 Crosshair V Formula-Z

hax0rmort
Level 11
Hi ladies and gents,

I'd like to document the steps needed to create an array on ports 5+6 so if anyone else stumbles along, they can see how it's done. I'm new to this, and have only setup an array once before tinkering around.

Here is what I have and what I want. I have two 1GB HDDs that I'd like in the best array type that will provide for redundancy. So I'm assuming this is RAID1? I store all my backups here for home pictures, video, important documents from the military and finances as well as music collection. I do not want to reinstall windows 8.1 as I won't be storing the OS on the disks. I know AMD has the RAIDXPeRT software I intended to install, is there anything else to be thinking of besides going into BIOS and setting up PORT 5+6 for RAID and making sure my two 1GB drives are empty and connected to those ports?

I'd like to streamline the process before I start because I don't want to hit any snafus and I'd like to know what I'm doing before I start. Can someone be so kind to read over and let me know what else I should be thinking of or if I'm good to start?

Thanks in advance 🙂
-hax0rmort

MOBO - ASUS ROG Crosshair V Formula-Z
CPU - AMD FX-9370
RAM - AMD Radeon R9 Gamer Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 2400 MHz
SSD1 - Samsung 840 EVO 250GB // Boot
SSD2 - Samsung 840 EVO 250GB // Game
GPU1 - ASUS Radeon R9 290X
GPU2 - ASUS Radeon R9 290X
COOLER - Corsair H100i AIO Liquid Cooler
PSU - Corsair RM Series 1000W Gold PSU
AUDIO - Creative Sound Blaster Z
CASE - NZXT H440 Red/Black
KEYBOARD - Corsair K95 RGB
MOUSE - SteelSeries Sensei
HEADSET - Logitech G430
24 REPLIES 24

HiVizMan
Level 40
OP please tell me in simple sentences what it is you are trying to achieve with what hardware. It may just be that there is a simple solution to what you are attempting if we knew what work you are wanting to do.