cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Rig not starting up after installing motherboard

xeNNNNN
Level 7
Hey peeps,

I'm currently having a rather annoying and confusing problem with my Maximus right now, I recently fitted my new motherboard in (which frankly looks amazing) and after i put everything together and double checked the connections I tried to get it to power up but for some reason only the the LED lights on certain parts of the motherboard are coming on but the nothing else will start up.

I was going to fiddle with it and do some trial and error but frankly im new to this particular motherboard and there are a lot of things that are "new to me" so I figured it was better to come here first before tinkering with it lol

anyway my rig specs are as follows:

Cooler Master CM690 II
i7 4790k
7970 3GB (stock not aftermarket)
8GB(2x4GB) DDR3 Vengeance Ram
212 EVO CPU cooler (would probably be better to get water cooling for my 4790k if i decide to overclock but i rarely need to)
Maximus Hero VII (obviously lol)
Seasonic 850W M12II

Now I am almost 60% sure right now that my power supply is the problem but I honestly dont know why, though I'm not entirely sure if im honest I feel like I'm missing something generally in terms of how I connected it but my PSU is relatively old considering how fast tech improves so I dont know.

I realise my "problem" is a little vague as well but I really can't explain it anymore than I already have...lights for the motherboard turn on but that's it nothing else.

everything was connected properly (we did check about 10 times out of frustration lol) but no power was going to my towers start button 😕 any ideas?

Thanks in advance,
Will
9 REPLIES 9

Puffnstuff
Level 10
What does the qcode display say?