cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Replacing SSD

BearCat
Level 10
I've been running a Crucial M4 128 GB SSD for a couple of years now and I want to replace it a Crucial M500 240GB SSD. I plan on putting the 128GB into my daughters laptop. I've never secure erased before. Crucial doesn't have a utilty for doing it so I've downloaded Parted Magic. I havn't tried the program yet. This is my plan
Start the computer and boot into Parted Magic (it's on a cd).
Secure erase the old SSD
After the erase is done shut off the computer remove old SSD and install new SSD and Windows.

Does this seem the proper way to do it or is there a better method? The old SSD should be ready to install into her laptop now, correct?
4 REPLIES 4

TenBlade
Level 11
Have a read through this http://forum.crucial.com/t5/Solid-State-Drives-SSD-Knowledge/SSDs-and-Secure-Erase/ta-p/112580
Exerpts:

Follow these steps to delete partitions in Windows:

- Ensure the SSD is connected and is not the boot drive
- Right click Computer and select Manage
- Under Storage, select Disk Management. A list of the connected drives will appear
- In the lower right hand pane, find the drive you want to erase
- Right click on each partition and select Delete Volume.

... let the drive sit idle for an extended period, ideally at least overnight. This will allow an in-built function called Garbage Collection to clean all the cells...

Looks like you should install new SSD first, then connect old SSD externally with proper wire (probably comes packaged with cloning utility).
Secondly, concider other manufacturer, personally I´m a sucker for Samsung´s SSDs. Here´s a review, I urge you to find more, to get broadest angle on SSD.

BOLTS4BREKFAST
Level 12
Are you interested in cloning the 128gb to the 240gb prior to the secure erase so you don't have to do a clean install on your system?

Or are you WANTING to do a clean install on your system with the new 240GB SSD?