cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Rampage IV Extreme died in it's sleep.

bassetwrangler
Level 7
After six months of daily use, I shutdown normally last night but this morning my system would not start. Power supply is not being turned on. Start button, Reset button and BIOS LEDs are all lighted but pressing the case's power button or the motherboard's Start button does nothing (Debug LEDs are not lighted). Swapped power supplies with the same result. I’ve built more than 10 systems and I’m a software engineer with a high degree of technical knowledge.

I tried all the simple things (remove and replace battery, clear CMOS) with no success. Has anybody seen this problem or know of any other trouble shooting techniques?
30 REPLIES 30

Mason@ASUS wrote:
Hi OP,
I have to say this is a strange one as I haven't heard of many cases where a board falls into a permanent sleep.
I would probably reseat everything including the CPU and then rebuild the system and see if you get any different result. If not, PM me and I'll help you with an RMA if you haven't already gotten one issued for you for this case.

I was hesitant to reseat the CPU since Socket 2011 is so subject to damage and I KNEW that this was an unlikely source of the problem. But since I had my RMA in hand (and had just submitted my ARS request form) I removed the CPU, inspected the socket and replaced it and, to my great surprise, the motherboard came back to life.

I sent xship_rma@asus.com a message requesting that the RMA (RMA# X-USPT281288) be cancelled and the ARS request form be ignored. If you could do anything to be sure that it is cancelled and I do not receive the replacement which, apparently, I do not need I would appreciate it.

Thank you.

bassetwrangler wrote: