cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New 3930k - No CPU cooler. Did i just fry my CPU?

warhog22
Level 7
hi all,

I appreciate any help Please

Im a big newb at PC building. Bought a pre-built X79 barbones.

Got it today installed Ram/Gfx card.

Was going to install a easy liquid cooling system for 3930k soon, after i updated bios and made sure system Posted. Or i
would have to return it soon. (30 days)

had to install wireless adaptor to update bios so I started the computer up. Only to install Netgear's Software off CD.

Entered Bios, computer turned off on its own after 2 mins. Again tryed, computer turned off after a few mins.

Booted into WIndows to load Netgear's software. Computer shut off 2/3rds way thru install or 3-5 mins total with power on.

Smelled burning after it shut its self off when i stuck my nose 1 foot from case.

Opened Case. CPU felt very hot to touch. Would burn my finger if i had keeped it there more than 1-2 seconds. So yea hot!

Im guessing the safety feature was kicking in yea? Is my Motherboard or CPU damaged prolly?

I thought CPU Solutions.com who i bought it from did a 24-hour burn in test. Guess not..

Did i just do a really stupid?

BIOS 703 Asus Rampage IV
16gig Corsair Dominator GT 2133 (not set yet)
1200 high Current Pro Corsair 1200 PSU
Windows 7 64bit
9800GT (waiting for AMD 7970's)
haf-x 942 case
18 REPLIES 18

Spoony
Level 8
Paper Weight springs to mind

DangerClose
Level 7
Wait so you had NO cooling solution on the CPU at all? I am amazed that people with no experience attempt this, and that nobody questioned once why there wasn't a cooler installed. Amazing......
*Asus Rampage IV Extreme - 3930K - 32GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 - 2x Corsair Force GT 120GB SSDs - WD VelociRaptor 600GB Steam drive - 3x 7970 Tri-Fire !! - Corsair AX1200 PSU - Thermaltake Level 10 GT case - H100 Cooler - Win7 x64 Ultimate :cool::cool::cool:

Melting_Point
Level 10