cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My First Build (Picture Heavy)

Doco
Level 9
Finally! I have built my own pc from the ground up, the spec :

So thats NZXT - Havik 140, Phantom (revision 2- has a front panel USB 3.0), Additional 140 and 200 mm fan

Intel i7-2700K
HIS ICEQ 5670 1GB
Corsair VX550
Maximus Extreme IV-Z
8 GB Vengenance 1600 mhz HP ram
Windows 7 HP Retail (64-bit installed)
Segate Bar. 1TB 7200 Drive

Using Rat 7 and Cyborg V 7 with the WarPad as perpherials

I've taken alot of photos as its my first build but I'l try to limit how many I post lol, my main worry TBH with the build was getting the motherboard stand-offs right, If I messed that up and caused a short then I'd be pretty screwed but thankfully all went well

after that everything is pretty much "join the dots" (admitedly I have 1-2 questions about some things, and I installed the motherboard without installing the blue tooh adapter first - which was a real pain lol) but all went well, I had a problem when I first tried to boot up, I thought I broke something along the way but it turned out my ram modules hadnt been pused in far enough - no click - but after that everything booted up fine, installed windows with ease and downloaed the 60 odd update for WIN7 lol ( I have a problem with my tv creen and entering the bios but I've sorted that and its all been posted in another thread)

One thing I learned was the difficulty of cable managment - sure its only a few cables how ahrd can it be? - very bloody hard lol

before :

after (or best I could do lol ) :

few excess cables I didnt use got hid in the drive bay round the front :

the finished product more or less (the leads that are hidden in the drive bay0 :

and the tightness between first ram module and my cpu fan :

of coure new pc beside old pc :

thanks to the rather cool weather my cpu seems to be sitting at an idle tempeerature of around 20 degrees give or take