cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Good quad channel kit for the Rampage Iv esxtreme? G.SKILL F3-2400C10Q?

conan48
Level 7
Hi guys,

Just bought the Rampage IV extreme for my 3930k. I'm also getting the h100 cooler. I'm having some trouble finding good ram and I'm confused as to what I need to get a good overclock with the 3930k. I was looking at this ram
G.SKILL F3-2400C10Q http://www.ncix.com/products/?sku=70847&vpn=F3-2400C10Q-16GZH&manufacture=G%2ESkill which is rated at 2400 and XMP. I know I don't wan't the ram speed to limit my overclock, but what would you guys recommend for Ram? The G-skill is rated at 1.5v and I've read some reports that I should not use more then 1.5v on the 3930k and other people say it's no problem at all ruinning 1.65v. Let me know if you think this ram is good or please give me some suggestions that you guys have found to be good.

I'm a relative noob for overclocking but I figure I'll get into it this go around especially with the H100 which should allow me to overclock the CPU nicely.

Also what would be a good overclock with the H100 corsair and 3930k and do I really need the 2400 ram.

Thanks guys.
4 REPLIES 4

Myk_SilentShado
Level 15
RAM should run at no more than 1.5v, if anyone says otherwise...they could be doing some extreme overclocking on their setups, for example LN2(Liquid Nitrogen)

Arne_Saknussemm
Level 40
Intel spec for SB-E is 1.35 to 1.65 with an absolute max of 1.85 so 1.65 no problem. The IMC is on the CPU and not all chips are going to run outside of spec. If you want to be guaranteed no problems 1600 will show no real difference in everyday tasks compared to higher clocked RAM. of course if overclocking RAM is your thing, go for higher frequencies. Really there is little (or no) link between the frequency of your RAM and the clock speed you can go for with your CPU. Temperatures will be much more cruical.