cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Formula VI Case fans

Denoppo
Level 7
Looks like the new Formula VI mobo will have 3 chassis fans headers and 3 opt fan headers, if I am reading the Chinese Manual correctly (pictures). I have never built a computer before so I have a couple of questions-
What is the maximum voltage per chassis fan header? My Noctua NF-A14 PWM case fans are .13 A and I want to place three of those on 1 chassis fan header for a total of .39A. Is this doable?
Also I have another set of same three fans (total .39A) for a different chassis fan header. Is this also doable w/o sending too much amps thru each case fan header?
What are the Opt fan headers for? Is this they can be controlled from an external source or by some other means such as Fan Expert II

Dave
Asus Maximus VI Formula-CaseLabs SM8 Case-Corsair K70 Keyboard
Corsair 16GB Vengeance Pro 2133-Dell 2560 X 1440 Monitor-Func MS-3 Mouse
Intel i4770K-Noctua NF-A14 PMW Case Fans-Prolimatech Genesis Black CPU Cooler/Fans
Samsung SSD 840 Pro-Seasonic Platinum SS-860XP-Windows 7 Ultimate
17 REPLIES 17

Denoppo
Level 7
OK thanks rismROG - I'm going for it.
Dave
Intel i4770K-Noctua NF-A14 PMW Case Fans-Prolimatech Genesis Black CPU Cooler/Fans

rdlambe1
Level 7
I just recently bought a Maximus VI Formula motherboard to replace my faulty Sabertooth Z87.

Everything on the Maximus VI Formula is working perfect, except the fan software.

On the Sabertooth Z87 it had 4 x 4-pin fan headers which I hooked up 4 x 3-pin fans to. The Sabertooth Z87 was able to pick up and control all the fans through Fan Expert 2 (AI Suite 3). Hence keeping my system whisper quiet. I was very happy with this.