cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can I improve my settings to make my overclock more stable?

RecklessNL
Level 7
Hi guys,

A little intro - I purchased the RIVE a week ago and I've been loving it. I have built a dedicated studio PC for professional audio editing. I do this for a living so my goal was to build a system that was capable of handling the insanely big projects I'm currently working on. I use DAWs (Digital Audio Workstations) like Cubase and Ableton to produce music, and my previous PC couldn't handle the projects anymore, so I went ahead and invested in the following PC:

Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Intel Core i7 3930k
Corsair Hydro H100i
Corsair Dominator Platinum 64GB 2133Mhz RAM
+ A Samsung SSD and 2 Velociraptors

Now I don't play games on this PC, so the video card is a cheap ~100$ GeForce, nothing special. I am using 64 gigs of RAM for running Ramdisk and Ramcache, since both greatly speed up my workflow. I have my DAWs installed on the RAMDisk, alongside the projects I am currently working on, so they load up extremely fast and the response time is incredible.

Since in audio production, CPU speed is the most important performance dictating part of the computer (followed by RAM, which I got covered), I choose to buy the H100i to properly cool the 3930k so I can overclock it. This is also one of the reasons I bought this board, since it was aimed at overclockers. Now I'm very new to overclocking, but I do know for a fact that overclocking speeds up a lot of the tasks in audio processing, like render time, the amount of plugins I can load and use, etcetera. So for me, the extra overclock mileage really helps in day to day situations.