cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BSOD at Windows loading when overclocking 4770K on Maximus VI Hero

fireaza
Level 7
Hey guys! I'm currently trying to overclock my new setup (Intel i7 4770K and Maximus VI Hero), I'm new to overclocking so I'm using the "CPU power up" thing to automatically configure the BIOS for me. However, it seems like no matter which profile I use, I get a blue screen of death when Windows loads. It loads fine if I revert back to stock settings. I wouldn't think overheating would be a problem, since:
1) I'm using a Corsair H100i water cooler
2) I wouldn't think it would overheat that quickly on such small overclocking

Does anyone know the source of my problem? I brought the K version CPU and the H100i with the intent of overclocking, so it sucks I'm hitting this issue already.
42 REPLIES 42

HiVizMan
Level 40
I would suggest it blue screens because either your CPU can not do it or you need way more voltage for that CPU. Earlier you had 0124 BSOD with 4.2 so I would say you have a very volt hungry CPU
To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

Ah, I see. The CPU is trying to run at my requested clock speed, but it's not getting enough voltage so it falls over when it tries to start Windows? Okay, so I need to bump up the voltage then. Back on page 1, you said "VCore manual mode and type in below 1.300" so I'd simply go back here and enter in a higher number, right? Any suggested numbers? Is it possible to enter in too high of a number and kill my CPU or is the system designed to shut down if it's going to be damaged?

HiVizMan
Level 40
Yes you go back to vcore and type in a higher number or just press the + sign a few times. Three clicks and reboot. You do not want to be above 1.4 volts for 24/7.
To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

fireaza
Level 7