cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BSOD at Windows loading when overclocking 4770K on Maximus VI Hero

fireaza
Level 7
Hey guys! I'm currently trying to overclock my new setup (Intel i7 4770K and Maximus VI Hero), I'm new to overclocking so I'm using the "CPU power up" thing to automatically configure the BIOS for me. However, it seems like no matter which profile I use, I get a blue screen of death when Windows loads. It loads fine if I revert back to stock settings. I wouldn't think overheating would be a problem, since:
1) I'm using a Corsair H100i water cooler
2) I wouldn't think it would overheat that quickly on such small overclocking

Does anyone know the source of my problem? I brought the K version CPU and the H100i with the intent of overclocking, so it sucks I'm hitting this issue already.
42 REPLIES 42

Nate152
2x8 GB kit would be best as using two kits of the same brand and same specs CAN cause issues. Use 1 kit to ensure stability.

fireaza
Level 7
Hmm, I was under the impression that it's important to always buy RAM that's as identical as possible so stuff like dual channel will work. But sometimes this is a bad thing you're saying? So I should leave 2x of my DIMMs empty instead of filling them all up? In the case of the 2x 8GB kit, would it be worth buying a faster speed or would it be a waste of money?

HiVizMan
Level 40
The number of sticks that are fitted increases the work the CPU (memory controller) has to do - it is better if you want high capacity memory to have the fewest number of sticks.

Faster memory only looks good or shows real results in benchmarks. Real world stuff capacity is king. For me 16gb is the sweet spot for the amount of memory I would use.
To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

fireaza
Level 7