cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Advise needed (RIVBE with 64Gb Ram overclock)

Alaxang
Level 7
Hi All,

I am new to overclocking.
My current rig has just been fitted with watercooling and I would like to do some overclocking on my rig. I have read on the asus rampage forum on some stuff to adjust when having 64GB Ram. Yesterday I manage to get it stable at 4Ghz after the adjustment and I proceed to push the ratio to 4.2Ghz. Intel Burn test passed on stress: standard but failed during stress: very high. I have put the vcore to offset mode with +0.03v however it still failed at the stress: very high - after 3rd loop.

Should I keep on increasing the offset voltage or is there anything else I can do the the stabilise the ram?

This is my current rig spec:
ASUS Rampage Black Edition X79
I7 3960X
Cosair Dominator 32GB kit x 2 1866MHz
PSU Seasonic x1250

Stress test program : Intel Burn Test and Prime 95

Memtest86 (Tested on all the memory - no issue so far)

Things I have done so far to the mb.

Intel Speedstep :Auto
Turbo Mode:enable
CIE: Auto

Set AI OC Turner to manual mode,

Memory Frequency: DDR 1600MHz (Suggested by Raja when overclocking 64Gb ram to put one ratio down)

BCLK Frequency:100MHz

VCCSA Current Capability:Set to 130%(max on my mb)

DRAM-AB/CD Current Capability:Increase to 130%

DRAM-AB/CD Power Phase Control: Set to Extreme

(with the above spec the sys will run stable with all stress test at 4.0Ghz)

Once I up the ratio to 42(4.2Ghz)

The cpuz will show the CPU being downclock(from 4.2 to 1.2) when stress test is ongoing and vcore going at 1.3+v)

I increase the vcore offset to +0.02 ( The cpu seem normal under stress test, going around 2.8-4.2, usually around 3.3ghz) passed standard but failed the very high part -Intel Burn Test

I increase vcore offset to +0.03 (Same as above )

Qns, Do I still increase the vcore offset or is there anything else I can do?
8 REPLIES 8

abvolt
Level 11