cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

3DS Max and Revit Architecture Temperatures and fans

step1984
Level 7
I hope this is the right place to post this. I just recently built my own PC and I feel like my system is a little warm or maybe even hot when it's under a load. I use Revit Architecture and 3DS Max to render instead of using it for games.

Here is an image of my ASUS Probe II stats while it is under a load with Revit Architecture rendering an image. When I'm using 3DS Max and rendering, the CPU Temps can even go to 75C or 80C.

I know I should probably buy a new fan other than the one that came with the I7, but I didn't know if I could change any settings to make it run better and cooler.

I'm new to overclocking, so I don't know all of the lingo. Any help would be great!

Thanks,

Stephen
9 REPLIES 9

step1984
Level 7
Oh, and my PC specs are
Rampage III Extreme motherboard
8 Gigs of RAM
2GB Graphic Card (one card, not SLI or Crossfire)
i7 950 CPU

Retired
Not applicable
what kind of cpu cooler are you using? is it the stock heatsink from intel? also are you running stock or did you oc your system at all?

Praz
Level 13
step1984 wrote:
When I'm using 3DS Max and rendering, the CPU Temps can even go to 75C or 80C.

Hi Stephen

Nothing wrong with your system. You just need more aggressive cooling to see lower temps. 3ds Max is brutal for bringing out system inadequacies. It is now my standard test of stability on the P67 platform. I am able to put together settings that will pass of hours of LinX , Prime95 or other commonly used stability tests but crash within an hour and a half of rendering in 3ds Max.

If using the stock CPU heatsink a good aftermarket one will bring the CPU temps down some. And one or two strategically placed case fans should lower the other temps.

step1984
Level 7
Sorry I haven't replied. The last few weeks have been finals in college.

Brian@ASUS,