cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Strix 1080 Ti problem

hermes1212
Level 7
Hello all,

First I want to say hello to community as it's my first time here. Week ago i decide to go with Asus Strix 1080 Ti upgrade, before I have own 980 Ti from Gigabyte.
My problem now is that card is have really bad coil whine issue she is really loud. Question is it worth it to RMA card? I never have issue like this and just not sure what to do. Place where i bought card told that it might take even 20 days for replacement. Please advise.
16 REPLIES 16

starsailor
Level 9
Hey Mate,

Can you make a video of the coil whine? Just run a game while putting your phone mic close to the card and alt tab in and out of game.
Here is mine;
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QpYk9gEGJx4

I have both Gsync and Vsync on, Using Asus PG348Q ultrawide.
So no this is not related to high FPS as 100 FPS is nowhere near "high"
I used Rivatuner to cap fps to 98 problem still exists.

I think there are 2 type of coil whine;

1) Stable "hzzzzttt" noise that does not change pitch too much and occurs on high GPU load only, which i have.
2) Pitch changing extra annoying noise that occurs on high fps like 300+ fps. Most cards has this type of CW.

If i had the second type it would not be a problem for me as gysnc limits my max fps to 98 so i would never have it but unfortunately mine has the first type of whine and i cannot accept this as there are so many people without CW, i have a friend who has the same card and same PSU and its dead silent so i sent my card for RMA on 14.04, got RMA confirmation on 17.04 and they delivered the RMA Paper to me on 24.04, getting my new card today and fingers crossed.

Korth
Level 14
ASUS Strix 1080Ti Coil Whine

It seems ASUS will often (but not always) accept an RMA if the coil whine is really bad.