cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

z790 Apex Encore Owners - Voltage Question

cthree
Level 9

Hello,

I've spent a lot of time over the past month learning how to properly memory overclock.  I'm still a rookie, but I've learned a lot in a short amount of time.  It's been incredibly time consuming, stressful but highly rewarding.  I ended up ditching my z790 hero and switched to the 2-dimm Apex Encore board and I'm glad I did.  I'm at the point where I can successfully stabilize higher frequencies with tighter timings in a reasonable amount of time.  I still have a ton of questions regarding voltages however...

For starters, I noticed that IVR VDDQ-TX (CPU VDD2 I believe) likes to run really low on this board.  I've also noticed that VDDQ-TX is not linked to Mem VDDQ like on other Asus boards.  I've been able to stabilize 8000cl38 w/ (VDDQ-TX @ 1.25 and SA @ 1.18).  Any higher than this, both TX and SA needs to go up.  I've also stabilized 8200cl38 w/ fairly tight timings w/ (VDDQ-TX @ 1.35, SA @ 1.25, Mem VDD 1.45, Mem VDDQ @ 1.51).  Which leads me into my question....

Is there an ideal methodology for tuning voltages when overclocking memory?  For example, should I focus on tuning SA/TX/IMC VDD, or Mem VDD/VDDQ first?  As of now I typically find a lower SA & TX voltage and then begin tuning Mem VDD/VDDQ.  If I can't stabilize after tuning Mem VDD/VDDQ, I then begin increasing my SA and TX.  Does it make more sense to tune SA/TX/IMC VDD first, and then proceed to Mem VDD/VDDQ?  I wonder what the general approach is regarding tuning voltages, if one even exists.

Looking forward to some feedback!

22 REPLIES 22

Silent_Scone
Super Moderator

hI @cthree,

Continue you what you are doing and use a methodical approach from a stable range.