cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Z690-F Not Detecting GPU

Sanchitosaurus
Level 7
So I'll preface this with the fact that I'm a noob and this is my first build. I have the setup listed below and I cannot get the graphics card to show in my device manager. When I plug the HDMI into it, it's a black screen. I have tried updating drivers but it tells me there is no card on my computer. I have tried numerous times reinstalling the GPU and am confident in the contact it is making. My case will not allow me to try my other card slot due to the size of this 3070. When plugged in to my PSU, the two power indicators on the GPU show no juice yet when I unplug it they show power to the GPU. I have tried other cords my PSU supplied but am having no luck getting the GPU working. Can anyone help me get on the right track?

Asus ROG Strix Z690-F
Intel i9 12900K
G Skill Trident Z5 DDR5 *2 x 16GB
WD Black 1TB SN850 x2
EVGA 1000 GT
Gigabyte Aorus RTX 3070 2.0
Running Windows 10 64bit*
28 REPLIES 28

Maybe a stupid suggestion but have you tried different cables? Like Different Display Port cables, or trying different HDMI cables. Are you using DP or HDMI?

myc24 wrote:
Maybe a stupid suggestion but have you tried different cables? Like Different Display Port cables, or trying different HDMI cables. Are you using DP or HDMI?

I have not try but is not the cable, The card is not detected in device management. And i have 2 screens same on both.

Nate152
Ok so the gpu's are working fine.

What I'd try next is your psu with your brothers pc. If all is well, it looks to be an issue with the pcie 5.0 slot.

Nate152 wrote:
Ok so the gpu's are working fine.

What I'd try next is your psu with your brothers pc. If all is well, it looks to be an issue with the pcie 5.0 slot.