cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New Z690 Apex and Armory Crate question.

JBBlack
Level 8
I know this is not the software thread, but I would like to know what people think about installing Armory Crate, every article I have read is mixed, and most user's opinions are that the software sucks.

So I read that I can turn it off in the BIOS, but then how do I control the RGB lighting? I would like it all static blue or whiteish blue if possible.

Note I haven't installed any ASUS extra software yet as I have seen too many articles about how hard it is to get rid of it once it goes South.

And I just spent 2 days installing all my stuff and getting all my apps and games working, so not doing a windows install for a while...

Sorry, but my last ASUS mobo was a Z87 and I'm still learning about the new BIOS/Software and hope it all works.

thanks for any help/suggestions.
ASUS Maximus Z690 Apex ; intel 12900k ; ASUS Strix 4080 OC RTX ; 32G Corsair Vengeance DDR5 4800mhz XMP1 ; Samsung 980 Pro Gen4/Windows 11 Pro ; Creative AE-7 ; 2-2TB Samsung 970- Evo in DIMM.2 ; Dual LG 4k Screens ; EVGA 1300P+
4 REPLIES 4

rsnelson
Level 9
I'm sure you have read https://rog.asus.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?311.

I'm also new to ASUS, but with the Z690 Hero and not Apex like you. Love the hardware.

I initially installed all the ASUS software. After playing around with the system and software, I re-installed Windows 11... partially to get rid of my sandbox but Windows 11 22H2 had just come available and wanted to have a clean slate. Crate is the only ASUS application software I have installed from what ASUS provides. I chose not to install GPU Tweak III and AI Suite with the O/S re-install.

The reason I have Crate installed is the following:
1) Control some of chassis fans from the GPU which cannot be done in the BIOS.
2) For Aura Sync and Aura Creator.