cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Currently: 6200Mhz on 4 DIMMS

Noles2003
Level 7
SPECS:
Asus ROG MAXIMUS Z690 FORMULA (Bios 1505)
T Force 16gbx4 6400MHz Ram Sticks
Intel 12th Gen 12900K
(a big newbie here so I am pretty sure that's all that matters in this scenario if not let me know and I will update)

The current settings are not anything special. I enabled the XMP 1 profile. Then I rolled the clock back to 6200MHz and added .03 volts to the VDD and VDDQ for some stability for a total of 1.38 (1.35 is the stock setting)

I only ran memtest86 for two passes. I know this isn't enough to guarantee flawless performance, but I never made it passed test 7 without at least 1 error prior to this, and I was tired of waiting and wanted to play after 4 hours of tinkering.

I imagine most people are having the same issues that I am:
Run one stick at max settings: no issues.
Run two sticks at max settings: no issue.
The moment I add the 3rd and 4th, COD Vanguard (Just happens to be the only game I have loaded on this new setup) crashes out within 5 minutes with a 6068 or 6065 error Which is frustrating because I spent a week chasing GPU issues in my spare time that didn't exist. On rare occasions, I would get a complete system reboot, or a blue screen.

I ran the system for a month with XMP disabled and would boot anywhere form 3200-4000Mhz with random crashes under load.

At the moment ASUS list the Group T Force 6400MHz ram on the approved vender list, but only for sockets 1 and 2. If you are like me and bought 4 the two empty spaces in the motherboard can be an eye sore. (Yes, I know that 64GB at 6400mhz is completely over kill for anything I will ever throw at it. I know that I can run 3 additional computers with the unused resources, but it makes me happy *when it works*)