cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Asus Prime Z790-A WIFI. Selecting the appropriate M.2 slot

Panagiotis_Mela
Level 9

Good day to the community

I am in the process of building a new PC from scratch, based on an Asus Prime Z790-A WIFI motherboard, an Intel Core i9-13900KF CPU and an ADATA XPG GAMMIX S70 Blade M.2 NVMe 1TB SSD, size 2280, as the system disc. The operating system will be Windows 11 Pro 64-bit.

The hardware has just arrived to my hands and I am now studying the building steps. Regarding the motherboard and the positioning of the NVMe SSD, this motherboard offers four (4) positions (slots), where the user can install an M.2 NVMe SSD.

The first (slot "A"), is called M.2_1_SHIELDING, supported by 13th and 12th Gen Processors. The rest three, M.2_4 (SOCKET3, slot "B"), M.2_3 (SOCKET3, slot "C") and M.2_3 (SOCKET3, slot "D") are supported by Intel Z790 chipset.

All 4 slots are able to receive a 2280 size NVMe. All of them are covered by an Asus pre-installed aluminum heat sink. The manual recommends to remove the relevant pre-installed heat sink and after installation of the NVMe SSD, to put it back in place, using the supplied thermal pad.

My questions:

1. Which slot is recommended to be selected as the optimum one?

2. Should I use the pre-installed Asus aluminum heat sink and the supplied thermal pad, or should I use the heat sink and the thermal pad, that comes together with the ADATA NVMe SSD?

For your guidance, I am attaching here two pictures. The first is the motherboard picture, showing the position of the slots "A, "B, "C" and "D", covered with the aluminum heat sinks, as they come with the motherboard, out of the box.

The second is a part of the manual specifications page, which describes the above slots.

Any advice will be appreciated. Thanks in advance.NVMe slots.jpgStorage page.jpg

I know not with what weapons World War III will be fought, but World War IV will be fought with sticks and stones