cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Let's talk about x570 chipset fans...

TooLoud
Level 8
Hi, this is something that has been bugging me for a while...

Late last year I brought an x570-P along with a 3950X late last year, and the machine is great, you can throw loads at it and it doesn't really slow down (I'm a software developer). There's just one issue, and that's the PCH fan, it's pretty damn loud! It can hit 1000-1500rpm at idle and over 3000rpm when gaming. It doesn't help that the fan is blocked by my GPU (an XFX 5700xt thicc2), they're actually touching and it took quite a bit of effort to get the GPU seated enough to lock it into the PCIe slot. The PCH fan/ heatsink seems to be in the worst possible place, next to the only full x16 slot. While it's a small fan, it does get loud with a pitch that cuts through everything (I thought it was coil-whine initially and even switched the PSU). It's very noticeable at 1500rpm when the room is quiet and about 3000rpm, it nuts! I can hear it over having my windows open (I live in the town centre), desk fan, plus the rest of the system (below). Now it's getting warmer, the problem is getting worse and it's only spring [in the UK], I also work from home mainly so the noise is a big issue for me.