cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is my Rampage V Extreme Killing DIMMs?

metallurch0
Level 7
Hi Everyone,

I have a strange problem with a rig I built a few months ago, I've got a Rampage V Extreme with a 6950X and 64GB of 3000MHz Corsair Vengeance LED memory in an 8x8 configuration. The power supply is a Corsair AX1200i and the motherboard and CPU are cooled by a custom loop watercooler with an EK full board block, 480mm radiator and EK D5 pump.

When I first built the system in October last year everything worked perfectly, fired it up and updated the motherboard to the latest firmware (3301 at the time). Not being an overclocking expert I just loaded the built in 10-core overclocking profile that came with the board, manully set the memory to its native 3000MHz frequency and started using it. Ran a few stress tests and benchmarks with no issues, CPU temperature never seems to go above 62 Celsius under full load and at idle it's practically room temperature.

Since I built it I've completed several demanding games, stuff like Mafia 3, Tomb Raider, Dishonored 2, etc... all in 4k with all settings on ultra and with 4 - 6 virtual machines running on VMware workstation in the background and the whole time the system has been rock solid, it hasn't crashed once since I built it.

So a couple of months ago I fired it up and noticed I only had 48GB of RAM, memory channel D seemed to be totally dead. I went through all the usual troubleshooting steps (swapping DIMMs round, resetting the EFI, trying the DIMMs in other systems) and still faced the same problem. So I removed the board from the system with the CPU and memory in place and took it back to the shop where I bought it. They have a test bench and plenty of hardware and after an hour or so they determined that one of my memory modules had died. Still being under warranty they swapped the whole kit and I went home with 4 new DIMMs.