cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Indecisive new builder seeking advice/guidance

septic
Level 9
Greetings ladies and gents! I've been researching my first build for a few months now and have reached a point of painful indecision(mostly psu+gpu). I have a budget of approximately 2k(US) to fill a Corsair C-70(military green) which I have already purchased. Mainly i'll be using it for gaming and video editing but I'm very interested in overclocking as i feel this a great opportunity to learn the inner-most secrets of my computer(with the correct guidance of course). So far this is what i'm thinking...

CPU: FX-8350
CPU Cooler: Corsair H100i
Motherboard: Asus Crosshair V Formula-Z
Memory: Corsair Dominator Platinum 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3-1866 Memory? still on the fence here...
SSD: Samsung 840 EVO 250GB 2.5"
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 3TB 3.5" 7200RPM
Optical Drive: Asus BW-16D1HT Blu-Ray/DVD/CD Writer

Now my issues... I am overwhelmed with info when it comes to a gpu and obviously can't pick a psu until I pick gpu... Maybe an R9280X-DC2T-3GD5 or GTX780-DC2OC-3GD5(less than 500 on amazon right now)? I don't think I necessarily have the latest and greatest but at the same time I really want this to turn out as something to be proud of... It's probably worth noting that I currently have a gateway HX1953L and can deal with that for now but in a month or so i'll be in the market to upgrade with a budget around $300. Any and all criticism/advice is welcome and I'm looking forward to hopefully making some new friends and learning a ton here!
25 REPLIES 25

septic
Level 9
Thanks Nate, that is a very good point. I was comparing the two and thought the formula was geared towards custom water cooling. But that's what get for assuming... Also, I checked out those 780 numbers and with the formula it looks really good at a price that's still below 2k. Again, i really appreciate the help!

Nate152