cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Building a hyper v server

mmcbj5
Level 7
I am looking to build a hyper v server that will run 3 servers 2012 and 2 os with thin apps can alone tell me what would be the best set up for this type of system as i have never done this before
12 REPLIES 12

Chino
Level 15

it is €2000 at the most as it is for a college project and i need to start it ASAP

xeromist
Depending what kind of performance you need out of the VM you could run this on just about any hardware that supports virtualization. I would recommend looking at used business class stuff because unless you need guaranteed service and up time you will pay far too much for new bits. Check ebay and you might be able to just buy a whole server.

The most important thing for multiple VMs is plenty of memory. I'm not sure exactly how you will be using them but memory is cheap so I wouldn't go less than 12GB.

Also, I wouldn't discount the option of using a cloud provider. If this is a temporary project and you don't need physical possession of your server then you owe it to yourself to explore this option. With many providers you only pay for what you use so a small temporary project is dirt cheap. And if you guess wrong how much power you need you can always scale up.
A bus station is where a bus stops. A train station is where a train stops. On my desk, I have a work station…

Fallen-Angel
Level 7
Go with this mobo: http://www.wiredzone.com/Supermicro-H8QGL-IF+-Motherboard-SWTX-w--Quad-1944-pin-S-G34~10021077~0.htm Info
Here some good CPU deals. I personally own an Opteron 6282SE. http://www.ebay.de/sch/sis.html?_nkw=AMD+Opteron+6172+12core+Magny+Cours+2+1GHz+12+x+512KB+L2+12MB+L...
Cooler: it depends on what case you'll use. In my case it's a tower so I use this one for cooling: http://www.amazon.de/gp/product/B0068OI7T8/ref=oh_details_o07_s02_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1