cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Asus H310M-E motherboard and Linux

Davofromthebush
Level 7
I've been using Linux for 22 years, and wanted to put it on my new computer with 8 gen i7, nvidia Geforce GT 710 16mb 2666 DDR4 ram Asus H310M-E R2.0 motherboard. While described as a Gaming machine it has no fans apart from the CPU and normally is very quiet while able to handle some of the large graphics and video files I process.

After disabling quick boot in the bios (version 1007), with the latest Linux Mint live DVD I got PCIe Bus Error: severity=Corrected, type=Physical Layer ... scrolling down the screen at high speed. It eventually booted but with errors on the display such as you might see on your TV with a bad signal. Small errors.

I wasn't keen on this and tried Manjaro Linux which booted up with no errors but it would freeze the mouse and become unresponsive after a few minutes. Meantime the CPU fan was in overdrive. I installed Manjaro with EFI partition for the UEFI bias and it would run for ten or fifteen minutes again with the CPU going into overdrive before freezing and if I checked the BIOS it was about 45 degrees instead of the usual 29 it runs at with very little CPU fan in windows, fan set to quiet.

I Googled the issue and found this link on overclocking where the system seemed to do something the same or similar. https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?99193-Help!-System-hangs-freezes-when-overclocked
However I didn't overclock, the RAM I have is 2666 max speed for the motherboard, and I couldn't find XMP in the BIOS Ai settings so this could be a red herring.

Last month I bought this machine, but originally got the 320 motherboard with AMD however that wouldn't get past setting Windows up for 2 or 3 minutes without the same phenomenon of lots of fan noise and unresponsive mouse and screen. The shop was going to replace it but I opted for the intel machine and paid a little extra.