cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Reported RAM usage on GS-AX3000?

dpwhite
Level 9
I am new to this router and pleased with it so far. I have 27-28 devices connected total with 22 on the 2.4Ghz channel alone.

I note that even while handling normal loads plus video streaming to my TV, the 3-core CPU doesn't seem to break a sweat. Indeed, I almost never see core 3 being used in the UI's System Status tab.

But in that tab I cannot help but note that the RAM usage is at 326M or the total 512M (64%). And this worries me a bit. I have read elsewhere (for a different model) that the values reported in this tab MAY include cached data - which is potentially free for use if needed - and so this value may not truly reflect the reality that I am concerned about.

Can anyone add anything or suggest another source for memory consumption in this router (command line, etc) so I can confirm sooner than later if I need to buy a router with 1G RAM instead?

Thanks
11 REPLIES 11

jzchen
Level 14
I have 2 GB on our AXE16000, with 38 devices (most are 5 GHz) and 3 nodes, usage is 750 MB out of 2048 MB, 37%. On our AXE11000 it was around 50 - 60 % of 1 GB. At one point it was 97% for a while but I'm guessing it was a firmware issue because it went away. I notice low CPU utilization as well.

No experience with your router specifically I'm afraid. Seems like the ASUSWRT OS has somewhat high overhead...