cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Looking into purchasing a gt-5300

tdjohnson2009
Level 7
Hello all,

I've always been a netgear router person, so I'm new to the asus router world. Well after having the nighthawk x10 r9000 for 6+ months and experiencing way too many problems (mainly with both ethernet and wireless randomly dropping multiple times daily), I've looked into purchasing a similarly spec'd router from a different brand, which I came across the GT-5300.

Reviews seemed to be mixed, but most negative reviews seem to be from early on in the products life. So my question is, how is this router currently performing now? Are there many, if any, issues with newer units/firmware? After spending all of this money for a netgear brick, I'm kind of hesitant to purchase another high end router.

Thanks in advance for any advice!
5 REPLIES 5

Titaniu
Level 7
On paper it is the best, then at home, it is one more, many very interesting functions, but, if the active one becomes unstable (see thread ROG RAPTURE GT-AC5300 - FIRMWARE 3.0.0.4.384.21140), maybe in a few months the firmware is better, today has many failures the support of his help, but you must have a lot of patience.

Regards

Titaniu wrote:
On paper it is the best, then at home, it is one more, many very interesting functions, but, if the active one becomes unstable (see thread ROG RAPTURE GT-AC5300 - FIRMWARE 3.0.0.4.384.21140), maybe in a few months the firmware is better, today has many failures the support of his help, but you must have a lot of patience.

Regards