cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ram boot error only after restarting from windows 10

Rawandouz
Level 8
Hi this is my first time posting, so forgive me if I'm using wrong formats, or missing some details (I'll add if needed):

Recently I've been having an annoying issue, whenever i do a windows restart, (noticed it during the latest windows update, I'm not sure if it's related) i will get a ram error (orange led, 1 long beep and 2 short ones) and I can only bypass it by doing a complete shutdown/turn on, If i shut down my PC through windows and turn it on I wont have any errors as well, it's only specific to a restart from windows.

I updated my bois, did a memory test (using memtest68) i might do an extended one later, nothing showed up.

I turned off xmp and tried to restart same ram error only from windows restart.

I had this the below system for around almost 2 years and only now I'm having this issue:

Asus Strix z690F | DDR5 32GB Corsair Vengeance CMK32GX5M2B5600C36 | i7127000k (not Overclocked)

other than that issue, the PC runs very stable, I'm wondering if anyone had a similar issue with ram errors only after restart, and have any suggestions which would be really appreciated.

13 REPLIES 13

Jiaszzz_ROG
Customer Service Agent

Hello, @Rawandouz 

May I inquire if the situation you described occurred following any recent changes, such as a BIOS update or the connection of an external device?
Does the system fail to boot into the OS after the Q-LED indicator lights up and hears the beep codes upon rebooting?
Could you please confirm your current BIOS version, whether there is any memory overclocking, and the memory installation slots?
We suggest that you try installing one RAM module in the DIMM_A2 slot after clearing CMOS.
Ensure there are no abnormalities upon rebooting before adding the second module to the DIMM_B2 slot.

Thank you.