cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hyper m.2 x 16 card - not recognizing

milkbuff
Level 7
Hi,
I'm pretty new to the ROG forums, so, wassup.

I have a ProArt z690 Creator Wifi mobo, and I'm trying to connect the Asus Hyper m2. x16 PCI e card to it. I have it installed, and it detects one of four m.2 SSDs I have attached to the expansion card. Under my BIOS I do not see the option in Advanced\Onboard Devices Configuration for the Hyper M.2X16 Enable/Disable. Has anyone else experienced this? In search for the interwebs, it appears everyone else's Asus mobo has this option, but not on the z690 Creator?!?

I have also removed the GPU and put the expansion card in PCI slot 1, and gotten the same results.

All the m.2 sticks are the same: Samsung EVO980 2TB.

I'm fiending to get this setup because this is the reason why I put together this particular build. :rolleyes:
2 REPLIES 2

Murph_9000
Level 14
If it's the HYPER M.2 X16 GEN 4 CARD, the number of M.2 drives supported depends on the PCIe lanes available on the motherboard slot used for it.

On your ProArt Z690 Creator board, PCIEX16(G5)_1 and PCIEX16(G5)_2 share the 16 GPU lanes from the Intel CPU; either as PCIEX16(G5)_1 in x16 mode and PCIEX16(G5)_2 disabled, or both in x8 mode. PCIEX16(G3) can only do x4 mode. These are limitations of the Intel Z690 platform, rather than something ASUS chose (they have some choice in how they present the lanes, but the Z690 platform does not have the ability to do more than a single x16).