cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

[Build Log] -Aurora Cubes- A RGB 3D Printed Case by 8-Bit Builder

thorkon
Level 8

Hello and welcome to my newest build 🙂

I've been modding for 10 years now and usually my themes are of a pixelated design. This mod is named Aurora Cubes as the case will be built to look like it's made out of hundreds of cubes that each have a LED and will pattened lighting effects. It will be quite a light show (I hope!). I will be 3D printing this case and expect to use about 6 lbs of plastic to make. Here are a few designs so you can visualize the project.

My sponsors for this mod

Components
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO WI-FI
ASUS GTX 1070 STRIX

TEAMGROUP T-FORCE Delta RGB 16gb DDR4 RAM
TEAMGROUP T-FORCE Delta RGB 250gb SSD

Raidmax NV-R120B RGB FANS (5)
CPU undecided
Heatsink undecided

Heres a few photos of my previous work:

I'll be back soon with some progress of printing and programming!
14 REPLIES 14

thorkon
Level 8
Back with some new progress now that I've printed a few sections out. Having some stringing issue due to a mod I put on the printer so I've been troubleshooting it but still giiving some issues.

THE STRINGINGGGGG

Fix'd after some easy cleanup

Next issue was the this tall section having a weak stability

Nothing a little 3d pen cant fix. This section will be strengthened once the whole frame comes together.

And heres the base being clamped together. Its a bit bigger than I expected honestly but not an issue. I'll be back with the rest of the frame coming together.

thorkon
Level 8
Going to be some rapid updates as I move into finising printing most of pieces now. I've ran into a few issues...

Spaghetti monster, colorized
What happened: I was printing 3 pieces but the 3rd piece dislodged from the printbed and began printing in the air. Luckily the 2 pieces were easily salvageable and cleaned up for use.

This is the top in sections. Will house a 120mm fan, a usb hub and a power button.