cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ultimate Guide to UEFI Dual Boot Windows 8.1 and Linux (Kali)

EzStyles
Level 7
The Ultimate Guide to UEFI Dual
Boot Windows 8.1 and Linux

Hello my name is Ez and I decided to write this tutorial after I spent a ridiculous number of hours trying to do something that SHOULD have been simple. There seems to be a lot of misinformation out there regarding how to do this so my goal with this is to get you through this as quickly, and with as few steps, as possible. I am by no means an expert and while I did my best to avoid it, there may be some misinformation in here as well, so please use this tutorial at your own risk.

A few notes: I did this on Asus G751JM with Windows 8.1 on hdd, and Kali Linux on ssd.

A couple things: This tutorial assumes that you already have Windows 8 installed and want to install linux alongside Windows. (This should work whether you intend to use a single harddrive for both installations, or separate harddrives. Just make sure you have a partition available for linux install) Whichever Linux distro you choose must also support UEFI.

First thing is first. Let's make sure that you are, in fact, running Windows on a UEFI system.

Open File Explorer and navigate to the following folder: C:\Windows\Panther.

In the folder named 'Panther' you will see a text file titled setupact.log. The file will automatically open in Notepad.

Once you have opened setupact.log, press Ctrl+F to bring up the 'Find box' and search for an entry named 'Detected BootEnvironment'.

Once you find 'Detected Boot Environment', you will notice the words 'BIOS' or 'UEFI' mentioned as follows:
Callback_BootEnvironmentDetect: Detected boot environment: BIOS
OR
Callback_BootEnvironmentDetect: Detected boot environment: UEFI

Alternatively, you can also open 'Run', type 'MSInfo32' and hit Enter to open 'System Information'. It will say either 'Legacy' (if Bios) or 'UEFI' in the window that opens.