cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

crossfire question?

immaturegizzmoe
Level 10
OK, this is probably a silly question but I am trying to understand the bigger picture so here goes. I have a Matrix 7970 Platinum graphics card. I have noticed that some of the new games releasing this summer like Shadow of Morador and Watch dogs have a 7970 gpu listed under the recommended settings. I know that as some of the newer games begin to releasethis year the
recommended hardware will rise above my card. I have never used crossfire before, I know how to install and enable crossfire but my question is what does 2 cards do to your system? do they double your stats, such as my card runs at 1150 mhz and has 3 gb of memory so does that jump to 6 gb of memory at 2300 mhz? What I am trying to figure out is when the recommended specs are higher than my single card how do I know what I have if I run crossfire? and is it worth it to run crossfire or just buy a bigger card. Hope i Made that easy to understand, It's hard to get my point across because I dont know how to word it.
3 REPLIES 3

Heini
Level 11
immaturegizzmoe wrote:
Hope I Made that easy to understand, It's hard to get my point across because I dont know how to word it.

Easy enuff to understand. I don't know the technical answers but I do know that one big card is better than two medium cards. I play Hitman Absolution and adding another card in crossfire gave me about 5 fps (minimum). Add in that AMD drivers and crossfire "can" be contentious I would strongly suggest looking at a single card solution.

Arne_Saknussemm
Level 40